Grant user access by role (NEW in Version 1.10)

You can control user access by user role on the  User access tab in Settings > Page Builder.

NOTE: For Version 1.9 and earlier, see the article on controlling access by setting editing capability.

You can enable or restrict access to each of the four user roles independently: Administrator, Editor, Author, or Contributor. The roles with checkboxes are shown in the following screenshot.

You can grant user access separately to the frontend and backend, shown in the following screenshot and described below.

You can grant and restrict user access in the following ways.

Unrestricted editing (frontend)

By default, all user roles are granted unrestricted editing in Page Builder. 

Unrestricted users (who have user roles for which the checkbox is selected) can do everything on the Page Builder editing page except save and edit global rows and modules, which is controlled by a separate setting. This means that they can do the following:

  • Edit rows, columns, and modules
  • Add new rows, columns, and modules
  • Move rows, columns, and modules around in the layout
  • Delete rows, columns, and modules
  • Save standard rows and modules
  • Save layout templates
  • Publish, save, and discard edited pages.
  • Edit and save templates, rows, and modules in Builder (accessed from the WordPress admin panel)

When users are restricted (the checkbox for their role is not selected), they can still do the following:

  • Edit rows and modules when pages and posts are opened for editing in Page Builder
  • Publish, save, or discard changes to edited pages

In other words, when they mouse over a row or module they see only the wrench icon, and the menu in the upper right is hidden, except for the Done button.

In addition, users who are not allowed unrestricted frontend access will not see the Builder menu in the WordPress admin panel.

Global rows and modules editing (frontend)

By default, all user roles can save and edit rows and modules globally.

If you restrict users, they can still save standard rows and modules, but they can't save them globally because the  Global checkbox is missing, as you can see in this screenshot.

For global rows and modules that have already been saved, users can see them in the Page Builder layout, and they can open them in Page Builder from the Builder admin, but they can't edit them. They only see a lock icon, as shown in this screenshot.

Note: Enabling a user role in this field depends on unrestricted frontend access for that user role. See the User access hierarchy section below.

Builder admin (backend)

By default, only Administrators can access the Builder menu in the WordPress admin panel. 

Having access means the following:

  • You can see the Builder menu in the WordPress admin panel 
  • You can edit and save templates, rows, and modules

Note: Enabling a user role in this field depends on unrestricted frontend access for that user role. See the User access hierarchy section below.

Theme Builder editing (backend)

If you have Beaver Themer installed, you'll see an additional category on the User access tab for Theme Builder editing. By default, only Administrators have access. Having access means you can create, edit, and save Theme Builder layouts. If access is restricted through this setting, users may still see the Theme Builder submenu item, but if they click a submenu item they'll see a message that they're not allowed to edit.

Note: Enabling a user role in this field depends on unrestricted frontend access and Builder admin access for that user role. See the User access hierarchy section below.

User access hierarchy

There is a user access hierarchy to these frontend and backend areas, as follows:

  • Users who get global row and module editing access must have unrestricted editing access.
  • Users who get Builder admin access must have unrestricted editing access.
  • Users who get Theme layout editing access must have unrestricted editing access and Builder admin access.

Restricted access to either unrestricted frontend editing or the Builder admin removes the Builder menu from the WordPress admin panel, and enabling access at a lower level (Builder admin or Theme layout editing) will not add it back.